We are proud that Vital Xposure’s Artistic Director, Julie McNamara has been awarded a Miegunyah Distinguished Visiting Fellowship at the University of Melbourne for 2019. Julie Mc has continued her research into disability-led theatre-making and how this shifts the discourse on inclusive art where disability narratives are – and should be – truly embedded from the start.

On 3rd April she delivered a public lecture on ‘Cripping it Up: When Disability-led Theatre Awakens our Critical Consciousness to the Non-normative Body and Unruly Mind Unleashed in Public Spaces​‘, hosted by the Faculty Of Fine Arts and Music, University of Melbourne. It was received with great enthusiasm by audiences, we are sharing below just a few of the most heart-warming comments that went viral on social media:

“I have never felt as welcome, included, or valued and respected as I did on Wednesday evening when we journeyed to the VCA (Victorian College of the Arts) to hear the exceptionally insightful and sincere, yet still supremely well crafted and soul bearing words of the charismatic and dynamic Julie McNamara”

“Standing in front of projections providing visual images from disabled artist Alison Lapper – The Alternative Venus, Julie said a hard home truth – that we are all prejudiced”.

The lecture was filmed and you can now view it online via the link below. Please note that Captions can be activated by clicking on the ‘CC’ button at the bottom right of the video. Enjoy!

You can read more in Julie McNamara’s interview on ‘Precinct’, published by the University of Melbourne.

Congratulations Julie Mc!

This week our Artistic Director Julie McNamara is in Grand Rapids, Michigan, to talk about the work of Vital Xposure and deliver a key note speech at the Disability Arts Symposium 2017.

Tune in to the LIVE STREAMING on 6, 7, and 8 April

DisArt Festival organises the annual international symposium designed to bring together academics, critics, artists, community organizers, designers, and arts organization professionals to consider the current state of Disability Arts and the current state of access making for cities around the world.

This is Julie McNamara’s schedule:

6 April
Day 1 – IDENTITY
Title: Unruly Minds Unleashed
10.40 a.m. EST
3.40 p.m. BST (London time)

8 April
Day 3 – COMMUNITY
1.00 p.m. EST
6.00 p.m. BST (London time)
KEY NOTE SPEECH: Vital Voices

2.25 p.m. EST
7.25 p.m. BST (London time)
Title: Boo Hoo Hoo and Screw You, Too!” (Radicalizing the Community Conversation about Disability in the Arts) with Terry Galloway, Donna Nudd, Chris Smit, Jill Vyn